Atlas of
Bifurcations
October 22-24, 2021
Diep~Haven 2021
festival of ideas and contemporary art
October 22-24, 2021
“Atlas of bifurcations”
Encounters, debates, screenings, readings, workshops
D.S.N., Dieppe National Stage
Dieppe Fish Auction (Port of Dieppe)


Editorial / general presentation
Friday, October 22, 2021
Saturday, October 23, 2021
Sunday, October 24, 2021
Video exhibition
Team - Partners - Thanks
Practical information

Back in pictures

Video Exhibition

from October 22 to 24, 2021
as part of the Diep~haven 2021 Festival
festival of ideas and contemporary creation
Edition 2021 “Atlas of bifurcations”

where:
D.S.N. – Scène Nationale de Dieppe, Normandy
Dance studio

when : The video exhibition is open throughout the festival, in parallel with workshops, conferences, performances and readings.
However, it has specific opening hours: it will be open from 6.30 pm to 9 pm on Friday 22 October 2021; from 10 am to 6 pm on Saturday 23 October and from 10 am to 12 am on Sunday 24 October.

With video works by Ursula Biemann, Marwa Arsanios, Pauline Julier, Mikhail Karikis, Jumana Manna, Alexander Hick, Malena Szlam.

“The primary emergency of our time, the ecological emergency, seems to take everything with it. Félix Guattari already announced it to us in 1989, when he wrote that environmental ecology was only the beginning and prefiguring a generalized ecology. Today, philosophers tell us in unison that the Anthropocene event – this era in which humanity is now digesting the Earth – is taking away all possible distinction between culture and nature. The French philosopher Bruno Latour imagined (2001) how the oceans, the soils, the forests, the animals could join parliaments where representatives would be in charge of representing the “voice” of “non-humans”. If these reflections have met with great success, reinforced since then by the urgency of contemporary ecological issues, many artistic proposals have simultaneously reflected on ways to make those who literally do not speak, or rather those who “conjugate verbs in silence” as a great contemporary poet, Jean-Christophe Bailly, said. We present at D.S.N. an exhibition in connection with these issues. Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós

 

Thinking Like a Mountain by Alexander Hick, film, 93 min, 2018.
“On the mountainous slopes of the Sierra Nevada of Santa Marta, in the North of Colombia, an indigenous community struggles. The Arhuaco are the guardians of the forest and the summits of rock and ice, the fragile natural balance of their environment. The small group has been fighting for decades to preserve its traditional way of life, which is threatened by Colombian armed conflict, mining operations in the Andes, and climate change, which is changing their territory.
However, they draw from this nature a preserved and singular spirituality from which Alexander Hick takes inspiration for the montage of his film. In dual motion, he constructs a flow that is specific to the world of these men dressed in white. It is a voyage through space and time: from the shores of the Pacific to the stars that light up the nights on the glaciers, from the encounter with the first colonising whites to the return of the warriors following FARC’s laying-down of arms. A small cosmogony specific to this territory is progressively drawn out through the film and we willingly allow ourselves to be guided through it. ” (Madeline Robert – Visions du Réel)

Alexander Hick


Alexander Hick
studied fine arts in Munich (ADBK) and Barcelona (LAMASSANA) and documentary film in Munich (HFF) and Mexico (CCC). He is a mountain guide and co-founded Flip- ping the coin, an artist collective based in Berlin. His films and multimedia installations have been shown and awarded at film festivals and museums.

 

 

Who is Afraid of Ideology ? by Marwa Arsanios, 2020
Acting in an effort to realign life against the machineries of capitalist exploitation is at the core of the anti-colonial struggle for wider social and political change today, and women are fighting on its different frontiers. The three films of Marwa Arsanios’ Who’s Afraid of Ideology? series weave an intersectional path through the struggles of women—in places such as Northern Syria and Colombia—to claim the right to land and to reconnect with nature in an unmediated way. Self-defense, ecofeminism, ownership, healing, state control, autonomy, collectivity, indigenous struggle, seed protection, and land rights: these are the themes of Arsanios’ work. Her timely questions probe not only the ways in which ideology and theory coincide with living practice, but also if “we” can embody the answers as those outside these circles of struggle. Who’s Afraid of Ideology? Part 1 is shaped around interviews the artist conducted with members of Kurdish Autonomous Women’s Movement in Iraqi Kurdistan about the possibilities of a political praxis based on life and nature. Part 2 moves toward the actual practice of the women-only Jinwar commune in Northern Syria and the imaginary and contextual limitations that shape it. Arsanios convened two meetings with women farmers and ecological feminists from Syria, Lebanon, Colombia, Mexico, India, Poland, Denmark, and Greece—in Warsaw and Sharjah—to exchange knowledge around their cooperatives and communes. Part 3 draws from these intense exchanges, focusing on the ongoing systemic war waged against the smallest and the most essential element of life—the seed—and the methodologies of survival. While seed autonomy is a threat for transnational corporations, governments, and paramilitaries, for indigenous people seeds are the symbol of resistance after losing language.

Marwa Arsanios by Nada Zgank

Marwa Arsanios is an artist, filmmaker and researcher whose work takes the form of installation, performance and film. In her work, she reconsiders the political development of the second half of the 20th century from a contemporary perspective, focusing on gender relations, collectivism, urbanism and industrialization. His research work includes many disciplines and is deployed notably within collaborative projects. She has had several solo exhibitions in international institutions such as Beirut Art Center (2017), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016), Witte de With, Rotterdam (2016), Kunsthalle Lissabon, Lisbon (2015) and Art in General, New York (2015). She received the Georges de Beauregard International Prize at FID Marseille (2019), the Special Prize of the Pinchuk Future Generation Art Prize (2012) and was nominated for the Paulo Cunha e Silva Art Prize (2017) and the Han Nefkens Foundation award (2014). She is co-founder of the 98weeks Research Project. Her work is included in international collections such as the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis; SF MoMA, San Francisco; Barjeel Art Foundation, Sharjah; Lewben Art Foundation, Vilnius; Kadist, Paris; CNAP, Paris; Sharjah Art Foundation, Sharjah.

 

Ursula Biemann, Acoustic Ocean, video, 2018
With a researcher’s approach, artist Ursula Biemann (1955, Zurich) imagines essays in the form of videos and texts that explore the link between politics and the environment. Her latest film, Acoustic Ocean, is an expedition into the depths of the Arctic Ocean in search of interspecies communication. In this semi-fictional narrative, the aquanaut – played by singer and Sami activist Sofia Jannok – attempts to capture the sounds of animals and micro-creatures. Thus, the memory of this life stored in the water and the perspective of an uncertain climatic future are mixed in the story.

Ursula Biemann

Ursula Biemann is an artist, writer, and documentarian based in Zurich, Switzerland. Her art practice is strongly research oriented and involves fieldwork in remote locations where she investigates climate change and oil and water ecologies, as in the recent projects Deep Weather (2013) Forest Law (2014) and Acoustic Ocean (2018). Biemann has had extensive solo exhibitions at MAMAC Nice, Broad Art Museum Michigan, BAK Utrecht, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Bildmuseet Umea, Lentos Museum Linz and Helmhaus Zurich. Her video installations are exhibited worldwide in museums and at international art biennials in Liverpool, Sharjah, Shanghai, Seville, Taipei, Istanbul, Montreal, Venice and Sao Paulo. Since 2018, she has been involved in the co-creation of an indigenous university in the Colombian Amazon and in 2021 published the online monograph Becoming Earth about her ecological videos and writing (becomingearth.unal.edu.co). Biemann holds a BFA from the School of Visual Arts and studied at the Whitney Independent Study Program in New York. She received an honorary doctorate in humanities from the Swedish University of Umea and the Meret Oppenheim Prize, the Swiss grand prize for contemporary art. www.geobodies.org

 

Jumana Manna, Wild Relatives, 80 min, 2017
In her recent work, Jumana Manna uses video and sculpture as the medium for a reorganization of the archive relating to the history of the countries of the Near East and Northern Europe – which she sees as distinct yet linked geographical entities. The exploration thus focuses on the way in which forms of power – economic, political, interpersonal – condition architecture as well as human and plant life. Manna is particularly interested in the unspoken implications of current scientific preservation practices, questioning the binary constructs of pure, unchanging heritage and the power of innovation. In Wild Relatives, Jumana Manna traces the hierarchical and power relations that accompany a seed transaction between the town of Longyearbyen in the Arctic archipelago of Svalbard (Norway) and the Lebanese plain of the Bekaa. The film follows the journey of the seeds, tracing the path of these life forms as they are extracted from the soil and transplanted elsewhere, moving from arid soil to permafrost and back again.

Jumana Manna

Palestinian artist Jumana Manna (b. 1987, New Jersey, lives and works in Berlin and Jerusalem) is a graduate of CalArts as well as the National Academy of Fine Arts in Oslo and the Bezalel Academy of Fine Arts and Design in Jerusalem. Through her films and sculptures, the artist interrogates the ways in which the social, the political and interpersonal power relations interact with the human body. Her films blend fact and fiction, biographical details and archival documents to explore the construction of historical and national narratives. Her sculptures are more abstract and explore the calcifications of memory, represented by real or fabricated objects. She has participated in numerous festivals and exhibitions, including BAFICI, IFFR Rotterdam, Tate Modern, Marrakech Biennale 6, and the Nordic Pavilion at the 57th Venice Biennale. Jumana Manna is a recipient of the A.M. Qattan Foundation’s Young Palestinian Artist Award (2012) and the Ars Viva Prize for Visual Arts (2017). She was nominated for the Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst in Berlin.

 

 

Naturales Historiae by Pauline Julier, 56′, 2019
With Bruno Latour, Philippe Descola and Jun Wang. Through different natural histories shot between China, France and Italy, Naturalis Historia questions our ways of thinking and representing Nature. Each chapter explores a situation of human beings struggling with Nature and its images, revealing their obsessions and shaking our certainties. “The film begins with a volcanic eruption that strands the director, Pauline Julier, in a foreign city, among strangers. They evoke legends about the formation of continents, the eruption of tectonic plates or the explosion of ashes that would have caused summers without sun. From this event, Julier decides to question the concept, as vast as it is thorny, of the representation of nature. Separated by different thematic axes such as landscape, the notion of the sublime, the conquest of space, or even the deception surrounding natural disasters, the film subtly traces a critical history of nature. From mythological notions of a world dominated by natural forces to the Anthropocene paradigm in which we find ourselves today, Naturales Historiae does not approach nature as a universal and objective notion, but as a purely discursive construction, a fiction. In the absence of certainty, nature would then perhaps only be the incomprehensible, the untamed; everything that could never be enclosed in the framework of a landscape.” Elena López Riera.

Pauline Julier

Pauline Julier is an artist and filmmaker. She explores the links that humans create with their environment through stories, rituals, knowledge and images. Her films and installations are composed of elements of diverse origins (documentary, theoretical, fictional) to render the complexity of our relationship to the world.  “How to transmit culture from one generation to the next? How to orient ourselves in time and space? It is never an easy task. Especially for those who call themselves “modern” or “post-modern”, because they still have a difficult relationship with tradition and heritage. Aren’t they supposed to break with tradition, in order to free themselves from the weight of the past? But to free themselves for what? Pauline Julier stages how each generation must ask itself such a question again.” Bruno Latour, Reinitializing Modernity! Exhibition at ZKM Karlsruhe, 2016. Pauline Julier’s installations and films have been screened in contemporary art centers, institutions, and festivals around the world, including Centre Pompidou (Paris), Loop (Barcelona), Visions du Réel (Nyon), Tokyo Wonder Site (Tokyo), Museum of Modern Art Tanzania, Geneva Art Center, Palazzo Grassi (Venice), New York, Madrid, Berlin, Zagreb, Toronto Cinematheque, and Pera Museum in Istanbul. Pauline Julier received the Federal Art Prize in 2010 and had a solo exhibition at the Centre Culturel Suisse in Paris (CCS) in 2017. She completed a one-year residency in Rome last year at the Istituto Svizzero and is the associate artist of the Grand Théâtre de Genève.

 

Altiplano by Malena Szlam, 2018, 15 min
“Altiplano has proven to be one of the most iconic works of 2018. A complex handcrafted film that casts a spell and immerses us in a landscape of historical, ecological and political value and resonance. In the Altiplano region, the Atacama Desert, once at the end of the Inca Trail, bears witness to the dynamics of a lost era. The remains of this hallucinating landscape catalyze the history of an America that has disappeared or is about to disappear. The author creates a unique aesthetic proposal that reinvents the representation of the landscape, transforming it into a psychedelic, revelatory and mystical presence, pushing the viewer to encounter enigmas of time and memory.” – Laura Huertas, Eve Heller, Rocío Mesa
Shot in the Andes in the traditional lands of the Atacameño, Aymara and Calchaquí-Diaguita in northern Chile and northwestern Argentina, Altiplano takes place in a geological universe of ancestral salars, volcanic deserts and colorful lakes. Merging earth with sky, day with night, heartbeat with mountain, and minerals with iridescent clouds, Altiplano reveals a vibrant landscape in which a bright blue sun forever threatens to eclipse a blood-red moon. Coupled with a soundscape generated from infrasound recordings of volcanoes, geysers, Chilean blue whales, among others. Altiplano creates evocative visual rhythms through the clash of colors and shapes. The landscapes vibrate and stutter, transmuting into spaces that span a multitude of simultaneous temporalities. Located in the heart of a natural ecosystem threatened by recent geothermal exploitation as well as a century of saltpeter and nitrate mining practices, Altiplano unveils an ancient land that bears witness to all that is, has been and will be.

Malena Szlam

Malena Szlam is a Chilean artist and filmmaker based in Tiohtià:ke/Montreal. Through film, performance and installation, she is interested in the relationship between film practice, the notion of embodiment, temporality and perception. Through a focus on the affective properties of analog processes of the moving image, Szlam’s work gives form to kinetic and lyrical approximations of the natural world. His artworks have been screened at renowned festivals including Wavelengths at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), New Directors/New Films at MoMA and Lincoln Center, Media City Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Edinburgh International Festival, and CPH:DOX. His most recent film, ALTIPLANO, has won several awards including the 25 FPS Grand Prix, Melbourne International Film Festival’s Best Experimental Short Film, and TIFF’s Canada’s Top Ten 2018. Her most recent group exhibitions include “Time Machine” at Palazzo del Governatore (Italy); “Expanded Plus: Utopian Phantom” at Factory of Contemporary Arts Palbok (South Korea); and “The Moon: From Inner Worlds to Outer Space” at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art (Denmark). She is a member of the art collective Double Negative, dedicated to the production and presentation of experimental cinema.

Atlas
des
bifurcations
22-24 octobre 2021
Diep~Haven 2021
festival d’idées et de création contemporaine
Du 22 au 24 octobre 2021
“Atlas des bifurcations”
Rencontres, débats, projections, lectures, ateliers
D.S.N., Scène Nationale de Dieppe
Criée de Dieppe (Port de Dieppe)

Edito / présentation générale
Vendredi 22 octobre 2021
Samedi 23 octobre 2021
Dimanche 24 octobre 2021
Exposition vidéo
Equipe - Partenaires - Remerciements
Informations pratiques

Exposition vidéo

du 22 au 24 octobre 2021
dans le cadre du Festival Diep~haven 2021
festival d’idées et de création contemporaine
Edition 2021 “Atlas des bifurcations”

:
D.S.N. – Dieppe Scène Nationale, Normandie
Studio de danse

quand : L’exposition vidéo est ouverte pendant toute la durée du festival, en parallèle des ateliers, conférences, performances, lectures.
Elle a cependant des horaires spécifiques : elle sera ouverte de 18H30 à 21h vendredi 22 octobre 2021 ; de 10h à 18h samedi 23 octobre et de 10h à 12h et 14h à 18h dimanche 24 octobre.

Avec les oeuvres vidéos de Ursula Biemann, Marwa Arsanios, Pauline Julier, Mikhail Karikis,  Jumana Manna, Alexander Hick, Malena Szlam.

« L’urgence première de notre temps, l’urgence écologique, semble tout emporter avec elle. Félix Guattari nous l’annonçait déjà en 1989, lorsqu’il écrivait que l’écologie environnementale ne faisait qu’amorcer et préfigurer une écologie généralisée. Les philosophes aujourd’hui nous le disent à l’unisson autrement, quand l’Evènement Anthropocène – cette ère où l’humanité désormais digère la Terre – emporte avec lui toute distinction possible entre culture et nature. Le philosophe français Bruno Latour imaginait (2001) la manière dont les océans, les sols, les forets, les animaux pourraient rejoindre les parlements où des représentants seraient en charges de représenter la “voix” des “non-humains”. Si ces réflexions ont rencontré un très vif succès, renforcées depuis lors par l’urgence des questions écologiques contemporaines, de nombreuses propositions artistiques ont parallèlement réfléchi aux manières de faire entendre ceux qui, littéralement ne parlent pas, ou plutôt ceux qui « conjugent les verbes en silence » ainsi que le disait un grand poète contemporain, Jean-Christophe Bailly. Nous présentons à D.S.N. une exposition en lien avec ces enjeux. » Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós

 

Thinking Like a Mountain de Alexander Hick, film, 93 min, 2018.
“Sur les pentes montagneuses de la Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, au Nord de la Colombie, une communauté indigène lutte. Les Arhuacos sont les gardiens de la forêt et des sommets de roche et de glace, comme du fragile équilibre naturel de leur environnement. Depuis des décennies, le petit groupe se bat pour préserver son mode de vie traditionnel menacé par le conflit armé colombien, l’exploitation minière dans les Andes, ou encore les changements climatiques qui modifient leur territoire. De cette nature, ils puisent cependant une spiritualité préservée et singulière, dont Alexander Hick s’inspire pour le montage de son film. Il construit une circulation propre à l’univers de ces hommes vêtus de blanc dans un double mouvement. C’est un voyage dans l’espace et dans le temps : des rives du Pacifique aux étoiles qui éclairent les nuits des glaciers, de la rencontre avec les premiers blancs, colonisateurs, aux retours des guerriers suite au dépôt des armes par les FARC. Une petite cosmogonie propre à ce territoire se dessine au fur et à mesure du film et on s’y laisse volontiers guider. » (Madeline Robert – Visions du Réel)

Alexander Hick


Alexander Hick
a étudié les Beaux Arts de Munich (ADBK) et Barcelone (LAMASSANA) et les films documentaires à Munich (HFF) et Mexico (CCC). Il est guide de montagne et a cofondé Flip- ping the coin, un collectif d’artistes basé à Berlin. Ses films et installations multimédias ont été diffusés et récompensés dans des festivals de films et des musée.

 

 

Who is Afraid of Ideology ? de Marwa Arsanios, 2020
En préambule, face caméra, debout sur une piste rocailleuse, la réalisatrice Marwa Arsanios s’interroge : que signifie faire partie d’un lieu ? que veut dire « être ici » ? que délimite le terme « nature » ? qu’est-ce qu’un « nous » implique-t-il ? Résonne la question de la réappropriation des terres, des moyens de production, de subsistance, qui engagent la fabrication d’un paysage différent. Trois stratégies éco-féministes à l’œuvre, qui ouvrent à l’auto-gouvernance, à la constitution et à la transmission de savoirs. Trois expériences fragiles mais extrêmement précieuses, à l’image de ces pages d’herbiers aux plantes, à la fois cueillies et dessinées, qui tressent dans le film des façons de manifestes muets et flagrants. (N.F.).

Marwa Arsanios City by Nada Zgank

Marwa Arsanios est une artiste, cinéaste et chercheuse dont le travail prend la forme d’installation, de performance et de film. Dans ses oeuvres, elle reconsidère le développement politique de la seconde moitié du XXème siècle à partir d’une perspective contemporaine, s’intéressant particulièrement aux relations de genre, au collectivisme, aux questions d’urbanisme et d’industrialisation. Son travail de recherche inclut de nombreuses disciplines et se déploie notamment au sein de projets collaboratifs. Plusieurs expositions personnelles lui ont été consacrées dans des institutions internationales telles que Beirut Art Center (2017), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016), Witte de With, Rotterdam (2016), Kunsthalle Lissabon, Lisbon (2015) et Art in General, New York (2015). Elle a reçu le Prix Georges de Beauregard International au FID Marseille (2019), le Special Prize of the Pinchuk Future Generation Art Prize (2012) et a été nominée au Paulo Cunha e Silva Art Prize (2017) ainsi qu’au Han Nefkens Foundation award (2014). Elle est co-fondatrice du projet 98weeks Research Project. Son travail fait partie de collections internationales telles que le Walker Art Center, Minneapolis; SF MoMA, San Francisco; Barjeel Art Foundation, Sharjah; Lewben Art Foundation, Vilnius; Kadist, Paris; CNAP, Paris; Sharjah Art Foundation, Sharjah.

 

Ursula Biemann, Acoustic Ocean, vidéo, 2018
Avec une approche de chercheuse, l’artiste Ursula Biemann (1955, Zurich) imagine des essais sous forme de vidéos et de textes qui explorent le lien entre la politique et l’environnement. Son dernier film, Acoustic Ocean, est une expédition dans les profondeurs de l’océan Arctique à la recherche de communications interespèces. Dans cette narration semi-fictionnelle, l’aquanaute — interprétée par la chanteuse et activiste du peuple des Samis Sofia Jannok — tente de capter les sons d’animaux et de micro créatures. Se mêlent ainsi dans le récit la mémoire de cette vie stockée dans l’eau et la perspective d’un futur climatique incertain.

Ursula Biemann

Ursula Biemann est une artiste, auteure et documentariste basée à Zurich, en Suisse. Sa pratique artistique est fortement orientée vers la recherche et implique un travail de terrain dans des endroits reculés où elle étudie le changement climatique et les écologies du pétrole et de l’eau, comme dans les récents projets Deep Weather (2013) Forest Law (2014) et Acoustic Ocean (2018). Biemann a eu de vastes expositions personnelles au MAMAC de Nice, au Broad Art Museum du Michigan, au BAK d’Utrecht, au Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, au Bildmuseet d’Umea, au Lentos Museum de Linz et au Helmhaus de Zurich. Ses installations vidéo sont exposées dans le monde entier dans des musées et lors de biennales d’art internationales à Liverpool, Sharjah, Shanghai, Séville, Taipei, Istanbul, Montréal, Venise et Sao Paulo. Depuis 2018, elle participe à la co-création d’une université indigène en Amazonie colombienne et a publié en 2021 la monographie en ligne Becoming Earth sur ses vidéos et écrits écologiques (becomingearth.unal.edu.co). Biemann est titulaire d’un BFA de la School of Visual Arts et a étudié au Whitney Independent Study Program à New York. Elle a reçu un doctorat honoris causa en sciences humaines de l’université suédoise d’Umea et le prix Meret Oppenheim, le grand prix suisse d’art contemporain. www.geobodies.org

 

Jumana Manna, Wild Relatives, vidéo en boucle, 80 min, 2017
Dans son travail récent, Jumana Manna utilise la vidéo et la sculpture comme les supports d’une réorganisation de l’archive relative à l’histoire des pays du Proche-Orient et de l’Europe du Nord – qu’elle envisage comme des entités géographiques distinctes mais néanmoins liées. L’exploration porte ainsi sur la façon dont les formes de pouvoir – économiques, politiques, interpersonnelles – conditionnent aussi bien l’architecture que la vie humaine et végétale. Jumana Manna s’intéresse en particulier aux non-dits qui accompagnent les pratiques scientifiques actuelles de préservation ; son travail questionne ainsi les constructions binaires qui renvoient dos à dos un héritage pur et immuable et l’emprise de l’innovation. Dans Wild Relatives [Parentés sauvages], Jumana Manna traque les rapports de hiérarchie et de pouvoir qui accompagnent une transaction de semences entre la ville de Longyearbyen, dans l’archipel arctique du Svalbard (Norvège) et la plaine libanaise de la Bekaa. Le film suit le voyage des semences, retrace le parcours de ces formes de vie à mesure qu’elles sont extraites du sol et transplantées ailleurs, passant du sol aride au permafrost et vice-versa.

Jumana Manna

L’artiste palestinienne Jumana Manna (née en 1987, New Jersey, vit et travaille à Berlin et Jérusalem) est diplômée du CalArts ainsi que de l’Académie nationale des beaux-arts d’Oslo et de l’Académie des beaux-arts et de design Bezalel à Jérusalem. À travers ses films et ses sculptures, l’artiste interroge les façons dont le social, le politique et les relations de pouvoir interpersonnelles interagissent avec le corps humain. Ses films mêlent faits et fiction, détails biographiques et documents d’archives pour explorer la construction de récits historiques et nationaux. Ses sculptures, plus abstraites, se penchent sur les calcifications de la mémoire, représentée par des objets réels ou fabriqués. Elle a participé à de nombreux festivals et expositions, dont le BAFICI, IFFR Rotterdam, Tate Modern, Marrakech Biennale 6, et le pavillon des pays nordiques de la 57e Biennale de Venise. Jumana Manna est lauréate du A.M. Qattan Foundation’s Young Palestinian Artist Award (2012) et de l’Ars Viva Prize for Visual Arts (2017). Elle a été nominée au Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst à Berlin.

 

 

Naturales Historiae de Pauline Julier, Film, 56′, 2019
Avec Bruno Latour, Philippe Descola et Jun Wang. À travers différentes histoires naturelles tournées entre la Chine, la France et l’Italie, Naturalis Historia interroge nos manières de penser et représenter la Nature. Chaque chapitre explore une situation d’êtres humains aux prises avec la Nature et ses images, qui révèle leurs obsessions et ébranle nos certitudes. “Le film s’amorce par une éruption volcanique qui aurait bloqué la réalisatrice, Pauline Julier, dans une ville étrangère, au milieu d’inconnus. Ceux-ci évoquent tour à tour des légendes sur la formation des continents, l’éclosion des plaques tectoniques ou l’explosion de cendres qui auraient provoqué des étés sans soleil. À partir de cet événement, Julier décide de remettre en question le concept, aussi vaste qu’épineux, de la représentation de la nature. Séparé par différents axes thématiques tels que le paysage, la notion du sublime, la conquête spatiale, ou même la supercherie autour des catastrophes naturelles, le film retrace avec subtilité une histoire critique de la nature. Allant des notions mythologiques d’un monde dominé par les forces naturelles, au paradigme de l’Anthropocène dans lequel on se trouverait aujourd’hui, Naturales Historiae n’aborde pas la nature comme une notion universelle et objective, mais comme une pure construction discursive, une fiction. En l’absence de certitude, la nature ne serait alors peut-être que l’incompréhensible, l’indompté ; tout ce que l’on ne pourrait jamais enfermer dans le cadre d’un paysage.” Elena López Riera.

Pauline Julier

Pauline Julier est artiste et réalisatrice. Elle explore les liens que les humains créent avec leur environnement à travers des histoires, des rituels, des connaissances et des images. Ses films et installations sont composés d’éléments d’origines diverses (documentaire, théorique, fictionnel) pour restituer la complexité de notre rapport au monde.  “Comment transmettre la culture d’une génération à l’autre ? Comment s’orienter dans le temps et l’espace ? Ce n’est jamais une tâche facile. Surtout pour ceux qui se disaient “modernes” ou “post-modernes”, parce qu’ils ont toujours une relation difficile avec la tradition et l’héritage. Ne sont-ils pas censés rompre avec la tradition, afin de se libérer du poids du passé ? Mais se libérer pour quoi ? Pauline Julier met en scène comment chaque génération doit se poser à nouveau une telle question.” Bruno Latour, Réinitialiser la modernité ! Exposition au ZKM de Karlsruhe, 2016. Les installations et films de Pauline Julier de  ont été projetés dans des centres d’art contemporain, des institutions et des festivals du monde entier, notamment au Centre Pompidou (Paris), au Loop (Barcelone), à Visions du Réel (Nyon), au Tokyo Wonder Site (Tokyo), au Musée d’art moderne de Tanzanie, au Geneva Art Center, au Palazzo Grassi (Venise), à New York, Madrid, Berlin, Zagreb, à la Cinémathèque de Toronto et au Pera Museum d’Istanbul. Pauline Julier a reçu le Prix fédéral d’art en 2010 et a présenté une exposition personnelle au Centre Culturel Suisse à Paris (CCS) en 2017. Elle a effectué une résidence d’un an à Rome l’année dernière à l’Istituto Svizzero et elle est l’artiste associée du Grand Théâtre de Genève.

 

Altiplano de Malena Szlam, 2018, 15 min
« Altiplano s’est avéré être l’une des œuvres les plus emblématiques de 2018. Un film artisanal complexe qui nous jette un sort et nous plonge dans un paysage de valeur et de résonance historique, écologique et politique. Dans la région de l’Altiplano, le désert d’Atacama, jadis au bout du Chemin Inca, témoigne de la dynamique d’une époque perdue. Les vestiges de ce paysage hallucinant catalysent l’histoire d’une Amérique disparue ou sur le point de disparaître. L’auteure crée une proposition esthétique unique qui réinvente la représentation du paysage, le transformant en une présence psychédélique, révélatrice et mystique, poussant le spectateur à rencontrer des énigmes de temps et de mémoire. » — Laura Huertas, Eve Heller, Rocío Mesa
Tourné dans les Andes sur les terres traditionnelles de l’Atacameño, de l’Aymara et de Calchaquí-Diaguita dans le nord du Chili et le nord-ouest de l’Argentine, Altiplano se déroule dans un univers géologique de salars ancestraux, de déserts volcaniques et de lacs colorés. Fusionnant la terre avec le ciel, le jour avec la nuit, le rythme cardiaque avec la montagne et les minéraux avec des nuages irisés, Altiplano révèle un paysage vibrant dans lequel un soleil bleu vif menace à jamais d’éclipser une lune rouge de sang. Accouplé à un paysage sonore généré à partir d’enregistrements d’infrasons de volcans, de geysers, de baleines bleus chiliennes, entre autres. Altiplano crée des rythmes visuels évocateurs à travers le choc des couleurs et des formes. Les paysages vibrent et bégayent, se transmutant en espaces qui s’étalent sur une multitude de temporalités simultanés. Situé au cœur d’un écosystème naturel menacé par l’exploitation géothermique récente ainsi qu’un siècle de pratiques minières de salpêtre et de nitrate, Altiplano dévoile une terre ancienne témoin de tout ce qui est, a été et sera.

Malena Szlam

Malena Szlam est une artiste et cinéaste chilienne établie à Tiohtià:ke/Montréal. À travers le cinéma, la performance et l’installation, elle s’intéresse aux relations entre la pratique cinématographique, la notion d’embodiment, la temporalité et la perception. Par une attention portée sur les propriétés affectives de procédés analogiques de l’image en mouvement, le travail de Szlam donne forme à des approximations cinétiques et lyriques du monde naturel. Ses œuvres d’art ont été présentés dans le cadre de festivals reconnus, dont Wavelengths au Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), au New Directors/New Films présenté au MoMA et au Lincoln Center, au Media City Film Festival, au International Film Festival Rotterdam, au Edinburgh International Festival, ainsi qu’au CPH:DOX. Son plus récent film, ALTIPLANO, a remporté plusieurs prix, dont le 25 FPS Grand Prix, le Melbourne International Film Festival’s Best Experimental Short Film, et le Canada’s Top Ten 2018 du TIFF. Ses plus récentes expositions collectives incluent “Time Machine”, au Palazzo del Governatore (Italie); “Expanded Plus: Utopian Phantom”, au Factory of Contemporary Arts Palbok (Corée du Sud); et “The Moon: From Inner Worlds to Outer Space”, au Louisiana Museum of Modern Art (Danemark). Elle est membre du collectif artistique Double Negative, voué à la production et à la présentation du cinéma expérimental.